Log-in Gmail Network Login
Facebook Twitter

Thurston Community College

Thurston Community College

 Thurston images

Key Stage 4

Key Stage 4

The Key Stage 4 (Years 10 & 11) curriculum at Thurston Community College is designed to promote both academic excellence and effective citizenship.

Students follow a curriculum based upon a core group of academic GCSE qualifications comprising English Language, English Literature, Mathematics, Science and Religious Studies.  In addition, all students study core Physical Education each week (although this is not formally examined).  Students complete their timetable by selecting from a wide range of GCSE and GCSE equivalent technical qualifications designed to further their love of learning and facilitate their progress on to the next stage of their education.  These subjects are described in our Key Stage 4 Curriculum A-Z (available below).  For many of our students the next stage is Thurston Sixth, Beyton Campus and progression to University education.  Others make a successful transition to further education at West Suffolk College or other local providers.

Effective citizenship is promoted through our comprehensive age-appropriate programme of Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education (PSHCE). This is detailed in our PSHCE Summary document (see below).  Beyond that, the many and varied experiences provided by the planned curriculum ensure that we continue to nurture students’ spiritual,  moral and cultural development.

At Thurston Community College we are continually reviewing our curriculum design and the opportunities it affords.  Aspirations and the level of academic challenge are high and we recognise the need to provide a diverse range of support in order to empower our students to realise their full potential.  To this end, we look to innovate and partner with other local providers in order to create curriculum experiences which truly meet the needs of learners.  An example of this is our CollegeFastTrack pathway in partnership with West Suffolk College and a range of local employers.

Key Stage 4 qualifications have recently undergone review and have re-emerged as ‘new style’ GCSEs.  The key differences are that almost all qualifications will be assessed entirely by examination at the end of Year 11 and that Grades 9 to 1 will replace the old grading scheme of A*-G.  The timetable for subjects converting to ‘new style’ GCSEs is set out below.  More information about this new grading can  be viewed at  https://www.gov.uk/government/news/setting-standards-for-new-gcses-in-2017.
The Department of Education have produced a guide with more detail about these reforms:

From September 2015 English Language, English Literature and Mathematics.

From September 2016 Art & Design, Art Textiles, Biology, Chemistry, Combined Science, Computer Science, Drama, Food Preparation & Nutrition, French, Geography, German, History, Music, Physical Education, Physics, Religious Studies and Spanish.

From September 2017 The remaining GCSEs offered at Thurston Community College will become Grade 9 to 1 GCSEs.  These include; Design & Technology, Media Studies, and Psychology.

If you require any further information on Thurston Community College's Key Stage 4 (Years 10 - 11) Curriculum please contact Mrs Dawn Ford, Assistant Principal.

Additional Supporting Documentation